top of page

Chakra Balancing

So what exactly is a chakra and why does it benefit you for it to be balanced?

The chances are that if you have attended a yoga class or have an interest in metaphysical  practices, then you've heard the term "chakra."


Literally speaking, the word “chakra” from Sanskrit translates to “wheel” or “disk,” but this actually references a spiritual energy point within the human body.

The chakra system originated in India between 1500 and 500 BC in the oldest texts were called the "Vedas." Vedas are the earliest Sanskrit literary records and the most ancient scriptures of Hinduism.


There are seven main chakras along the spine and through the neck to the crown of your head. Each one has an influence on the physical body as the energy within it (Prana) turns slowly.


If you are unsure whether you have a blocked chakra you can visit a healing practitioner who will assess the energy points while you are in a state of relaxation. If they identify slow-turning or blocked chakras they can use their healing energy to open and realign them for you.

In the Mystikal Scents store, we have healers who are very experienced at Chakra Balancing. It can be booked as a single service or incorporated into a Reiki Healing Session for 30 mins or more.

Reiki Healing

When the chakras are open and aligned, our energy is constantly free-flowing, allowing prana to flow through them. 

When we look beyond the physical aspect of the body, we are able to influence the chakra energy with other healing energies, for example with Reiki.

(Reiki is a healing method that uses Universal Life Energy.)

If the chakras are blocked or hindered you could be experiencing symptoms that hinder you in your daily life. Stagnation occurs when a chakra doesn't function at it's best and not only can you feel lethargic, you could be blocking intentions or positive vibes.


If a visit to Mystikal Scents is not possible due to COVID19 we'd like you to know that some Crystals & Gemstones can assist with chakra alignment and function. Find out which ones right here.

The 7 Chakras

The Root Chakra      

The first chakra is the root chakra, it’s sturdy, stabilizing, and supportive, keeping everything safely connected as long as it’s functioning properly.


It’s associated with the base of the spine, the pelvic floor, and the first three vertebrae, and responsible for an individual’s sense of security and survival.

It's associated with basic needs too like food, shelter, and water. So when these needs are met, you tend to worry less.


When it’s blocked: 

A variety of ailments can occur from blockages,  including anxiety disorders, fears, or nightmares, adherents say. Physically, the first chakra is associated with problems in the colon, with the bladder, with elimination, or with lower back, leg, or feet issues.

The Solar Plexus chakra

The third chakra is located between the navel and the rib cage. It focuses on individual willpower, personal power, and commitment. It also governs all things metabolic, digestive, and stomach-related.

When it’s blocked: 

You can suffer from low self-esteem, have difficulty making decisions, and may have anger or control issues. It may also manifest as apathy or procrastination. Feelings of mistrust and vulnerability are also on the agenda if this chakra is not functioning. Physical ailments are tummy aches and digestive issues like gas.

The Throat Chakra

Your fifth chakra is all about speaking your inner truth and good communication. Anatomically, the throat chakra is associated with the thyroid, parathyroid, jaw, neck, mouth, tongue, and larynx. When this chakra is in check, you’re able to fully listen as well as speak and express yourself clearly.

When it’s blocked

In addition to having trouble voicing how you truly feel, you also find it difficult to pay attention and stay focused.


Physically, this blockage can manifest itself as a sore throat, thyroid issues, neck and shoulder stiffness, or tension headaches.

The Crown Chakra

This is the seventh chakra and the center of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves and the divine. It is located at the crown of your head, which is why it is named the crown.


When aligned you are spiritually aware and have access to the energy of the limitless universe. Your understanding of the bigger picture is attuned with your place in it and contentment is a regular feature.

When it’s blocked: 


Often experiencing the feeling of being disconnected from everyone and everything. If you aren't subject to the former you may just experience an inability to connect to a higher connection.

Trouble meditating or remembering dreams are symptomatic of an imbalanced Crown Chakra. This can even impact people who are well experienced in metaphysical practices. Luckily they tend to check in with their chakras on a regular basis to ensure their ability to help others with guidance is not hindered.

The Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is located above the pubic bone and below the navel, it’s responsible for our sexual and creative energies.

Associated with the color orange and the element of water. When the sacral chakra is aligned, you will most likely feel great. You’ll tend to be friendly, passionate, and successfully fulfilled. This, in turn, elicits feelings of wellness, abundance, pleasure, and inner joy.


When it’s blocked

You feel uninspired creatively and possibly have some emotional instability. It can also be associated with physical sexual dysfunction. Fear of change, depression, or addiction-like behaviors can develop.

When the chakras are open and aligned, our energy is constantly free-flowing, allowing prana to flow through them. 

The Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is found at the center of your chest, where it is believed the physical and the spiritual meet. It encapsulates the heart, the thymus gland, which plays a vital role in your endocrine and lymphatic system. It is also associated with the lungs and breasts.

As the name implies, it is also about love and forgiveness. This chakra is represented by the color green and pink.  When your heart chakra is aligned and balanced, love and compassion flow freely.


When it’s blocked: 


A closed heart chakra can give way to grief, anger, jealousy, fear of betrayal, and hatred toward yourself and others.

You have a tendency to hold grudges and be negative to others and yourself.

The Third-Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is physically located between your eyebrows. Organs associated with it include the pituitary gland, eyes, head, and lower part of the brain. It governs your intuition and your ability to judge things clearly. 

When it’s blocked
You may have trouble accessing your intuition or trusting your inner voice. It may affect memory recall impacting your ability to learn new skills.


Physically you may experience headaches and dizziness or any number of neurological disorders.

Learning How To Create Balance Yourself

Mystikal Scents offers classes and workshops on many subjects and healing modalities. After reading about these you may find exactly what you are seeking, but if not you may wish to attend a meditation session in the store.

Not only will you feel more relaxed, but you will also have the opportunity to learn the basic techniques for slowing the mind and body that will enable you to reach inward spiritually. 

Sensations and energy identification are heightened during a successful meditation. If you are having trouble with this beneficial exercise and wish to improve your abilities contact Mystikal Scents to discuss the options of Group Meditation and Private sessions.


You can call us on 813 986 3212 or come into the Store where you can experience a wonderful welcome.

bottom of page